Yoga

Yoga Siri

Tonight I was at Fire class at Sunstone Yoga, which is basically Bikram Yoga (aka Hot Yoga), and I was OFF my game. In fact, I was nowhere near the game. I couldn’t have spelled game tonight if I tried.

Usually, I wouldn’t be disappointed or concerned … I would just accept where by body was for today, but last week, I was a Fire Goddess!! I owned my best class ever. I rocked some of my best postures ever. So, needless today, I was evaluating why my body was not itself … yoga FORCES you to do that.

Then, she began to speak … Yoga Siri Voice. Yes, yoga speaks to you just like that pissy voice on the iPhone. Straight shooting, temperamental, moody, blunt, and it’s not always what you want to hear … and/or she reminds you of things you “forgot”.

Yoga Siri: “Oh, so you’re wondering why your balance is off and why your body isn’t killing these postures … well, Adria, let’s see … was it not your birthday last week?”

Me: “Yes, Yoga Siri, thanks for remembering!”

Yoga Siri: “I’m hoping you enjoyed all that Mardi Gras King Cake and Red Velvet cake because they are now working their way through your balance, focus, form, strength, and waist line. Did I mention cake? Lots of it? Red Velvet and King Cake?”

Me: “Yea, those two cakes sound familiar, and they were super delicious. I do eat pretty darn well daily, but last week was definitely cake week.”

Yoga Siri: “Now you have physically experienced the effects of too much of a good thing. Cake. Sometimes you don’t always see it, but now you do. It’s in front of your face. Are you sure you remembered the cakes, plural?”

Me: “Yes, Cake! I got it! It sucks, but it makes sense. I will take my penance, but I don’t have to like it. I will do my best with my cake-overloaded body. I’m glad birthdays only come once a year.”

Yoga Siri: “No you don’t have to like it, but you will have to look at it for the next hour in the mirror. You cannot hide, especially from Cake. And Yoga Siri voice. Here’s a picture of the homemade King Cake just incase you forgot what I was talking about.”

Mardi Gras King Cake

Mardi Gras King Cake

Me: “Shouldn’t Yoga Siri be nicer than iPhone Siri?!”

Yoga Siri: “No. Cake.”

Yoga is so humbling. You cannot hide your insides from yoga. Just like you can’t hide from God, you can’t hide your poor choices from your reflection during your practice. My body looked a little different, felt a little different, and performed waaaaaay different.

I got physical proof tonight (althought I’ve told myself this several times) that what you put into your body really does show on the outside.

It was hard to face my truths, but I overcame and have another layer of perspective in my back pocket.

Will I eat cake again? Yes, I’m human. But will I binge eat cake again? Maybe not till my next birthday — just being honest. What I cannot do it not expect it to affect my mind and my body.

Yoga really is my body’s Siri. (That crabby hoe.)

3 thoughts on “Yoga Siri

  1. When you become more in-tuned in your body, you definitely notice even slight discomforts. I’ve noticed the same kinds of things. Its nice and sometimes annoying.

    Last night we had a Mardi Gras-Masquerade social and had some King Cake.. YUM!

Leave a Reply

